The Power to Deny wins 1st Place Blue Ribbon Award in the GOETHE Book Awards for post-1750s Historical Fiction


Carmenta Publishing is pleased to announce The Power to Deny by Wendy Long Stanley has earned a 1st Place Blue Ribbon Award in the GOETHE Book Awards for post-1750s Historical Fiction. The Goethe Book Awards recognize emerging new talent in post-1750s Historical Fiction. The Goethe Book Awards is a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (The CIBAs). The 2020 GOETHE Book Awards First Place Category Winners and the GOETHE Grand Prize Winner were announced on June 5, 2021 at the Hotel Bellwether in Washington state and broadcast via ZOOM webinar and Facebook Live.

2020 1st Place Winners in the GOETHE Book Awards include: 

  • Linda Ulleseit – The Aloha Spirit
  • Wendy Long Stanley – The Power to Deny
  • Ben Wyckoff Shore – Terribilita
  • Donna Scott – The London Monster
  • Michelle Cameron – Beyond the Ghetto Gates
  • Pamela Jonas – For Love of Family: A Slovak Immigrant Novel
  • Dorthea Hubble Bonneau – Once in a Blood Moon
  • Jule Selbo – Breaking Barriers: A Novel Based on the Life of Laura Bassi

Carmenta Publishing congratulates the Grand Prize Winner for the CIBA 2020 Goethe Awards, Linda Ulleseit for The Aloha Spirit.

The Chanticleer International Book Awards offer competitively adjudicated awards in 17 fiction divisions and 5 non-fiction divisions. Works in each division are curated over 10 separate rounds of judging, resulting in identification of 1st Place Awards and a Grand Prize winner.

"I'm grateful to the judges who worked so hard and diligently to identify the winners for the awards this year, and I'm so very pleased to be named a First Place award winner," said Wendy Long Stanley, author of The Power to Deny. "In a year of COVID, it is more important than ever to tell compelling stories from our history which may inspire us to persevere and overcome the adversities of the present day. The Power to Deny tells one such story of a strong but overlooked woman during the time of the American Revolution. I am fortunate to have the opportunity to tell her story, and pleased the organizers of this contest considered it a tale well told."

The Power to Deny tells the story of Elizabeth Graeme Fergusson (1737-1801) of Graeme Park, a prominent but largely forgotten resident of Philadelphia and the surrounding area during the time of the American Revolution. Describing her wartime interactions with George Washington and other prominent figures of the Revolution, as well as providing a view of her position as a woman in Philadelphia society, The Power to Deny offers a unique and intriguing view of events which are well known in American history. The Power to Deny is available wherever paperbacks and e-books are sold.

For inquiries and author availabilities related to this award, please contact us online at http://www.wendystanley.com/contact_me .